You are here

The Story of Sassy Sweetwater: Southern Fiction for Women (Paperback)

The Story of Sassy Sweetwater: Southern Fiction for Women Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


After thirteen years on the run Violet McLaughlin returns to Carter’s Crossing, South Carolina, in 1962, with her young daughter, Sassy. The Crossing is right outside of Beaufort and the turmoil of the Civil Rights movement will forever leave its scars on the young and impressionable girl. As Sassy stands before the imposing white farmhouse for the first time, with no knowledge of her history but that the McLaughlin's are her kin, Sassy begins a journey that will tear her apart before it heals her. Growing up among secrets that will forever damage her relationship with her mother, she attempts to make sense of her past. But will her passion for art and her love for Thomas Tierney be enough to sustain her future? Will the puzzles she must solve to discover who she is be worth the journey?

About the Author

Vera Jane Cook is the author of 4 southern fiction novels. Her first novel, Dancing Backward in Paradise won the Indie Excellence Award and the Eric Hoffer Award for publishing excellence. The Story of Sassy Sweetwater was a finalist in the ForeWord Clarion Book of the Year Award and won the Eric Hoffer Award for ebook fiction. She is also the author of four women's fiction titles and is presently working on a fifth novel. Her 6th novel, Faith Among Friends should be published this year and her trilogy, The Fourniers will follow in 2017. She comes from a long line of Southern ancestors and presently lives in New York city with a cottage on a creek in upstate New York.

Praise For…

"Great Book with Vivid Characters" "A Good Read of Southern Fiction" "The Story of Sassy Sweetwater" by Vera Jane Cook was a excellent read. This story was one that was one I couldn't put down until I had finished I read all nite long ..." "Loved this Story.' 'Excellent Book." "Fascinating"
5 Clarion Review. 4-5 Stars on Amazon
Product Details
ISBN: 9780997487503
ISBN-10: 099748750X
Publisher: Bublish, Inc.
Publication Date: May 6th, 2016
Pages: 318
Language: English

Third Monday in May


From the publisher:

"In this richly imaginative debut novel, the first running of the Kentucky Derby serves as the backdrop for a story of what might have been had Abraham Lincoln survived his assassination and lived to retire with Mary to Springfield.  Derby historian Ross R. Moore provides an accurate account of the origins of the famous race, while creating a detailed and entirely plausible world through which the Lincoln's journey to Louisville to meet old friends and to face another deadly threat.  Part horse racing saga, part travelogue, part historical fantasy, part suspense thriller, chock full of sly bits of "stealth history" befitting its educator author, and peopled with memorable characters both real and imaginary, the result is an entertaining and engaging yarn and rewarding read."

Ross R. Moore is an educator, storyteller, and singer-songwriter living in San Diego.  A native of Kentucky where he attended Murray State University and the University of Louisville, he was for several years a museum educator at the Kentucky Derby Museum, sharing the history of the race with visitors. Now he brings this story to a wider audience, drawing upon his knowledge of Derby lore to form the backdrop of this, his first novel.

New Novel about Crawfish Bottom

Book cover: Concerning the Matter of the King of Craw a story by Ron Rhody

Local author, Ron Rhody has written a new novel "Concerning the Matter of the King of Craw" about the infamous John Fallis.

Ron is author of the "Theo" books about Frankfort.

Author Ron Rhody and store owner Lizz Taylor

Ron Rhody was in the store to sign copies of his new book recently.

So we have a limited quantity of signed copies of King of Craw that would make great presents.