You are here

Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America (Hardcover)

Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America Cover Image
$24.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER - NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: The Washington Post - Bustle - Men's Journal - The Chicago Reader - StarTribune - Blavity - The Guardian - NBC New York's Bill's Books - Kirkus - Essence

"One of the most frank and searing discussions on race ... a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin's The Fire Next Time and King's Why We Can't Wait." --The New York Times Book Review

Toni Morrison hails Tears We Cannot Stop as "Elegantly written and powerful in several areas: moving personal recollections; profound cultural analysis; and guidance for moral redemption. A work to relish."

Stephen King says: "Here's a sermon that's as fierce as it is lucid...If you're black, you'll feel a spark of recognition in every paragraph. If you're white, Dyson tells you what you need to know--what this white man needed to know, at least. This is a major achievement. I read it and said amen."

Short, emotional, literary, powerful--Tears We Cannot Stop is the book that all Americans who care about the current and long-burning crisis in race relations will want to read.

As the country grapples with racist division at a level not seen since the 1960s, one man's voice soars above the rest with conviction and compassion. In his 2016 New York Times op-ed piece "Death in Black and White," Michael Eric Dyson moved a nation. Now he continues to speak out in Tears We Cannot Stop--a provocative and deeply personal call for change. Dyson argues that if we are to make real racial progress we must face difficult truths, including being honest about how black grievance has been ignored, dismissed, or discounted.

"The time is at hand for reckoning with the past, recognizing the truth of the present, and moving together to redeem the nation for our future. If we don't act now, if you don't address race immediately, there very well may be no future."

About the Author


MICHAEL ERIC DYSON is one of America s premier public intellectuals. He occupies the distinguished position of University Professor of Sociology at Georgetown University, is a contributing opinion writer for the New York Times, and is a contributing editor of The New Republic and ESPN s The Undefeated. Ebony magazine named him one of the 100 Most Influential African Americans and one of the 150 most powerful blacks in the nation."
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250135995
ISBN-10: 1250135990
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 17th, 2017
Pages: 240
Language: English

Christmas Catalog

 

 

 Shop the catalog for some great Christmas gift ideas,

 then order from our website or give us a call at (502) 223-8018

 and we'll be glad to take your order over the phone.

 When ordering online, you can choose to pick your book up at the store

 and pay when it comes in.

Bourbon Books

Poor Richard's Books hosted authors Susan Reigler and Michael Veach during Bourbonanza October 15.

Bourbon authority, Veach, explains in Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey: An American Heritage, how bourbon went from "low-brow to top shelf."

Reigler, Executive Bourbon Steward and President of The Bourbon Women Association, has created Kentucky Bourbon Country: The Essential Travel Guide.  She has also authored several "Bourbon Cocktail" recipe books.

We will have those books and others written by Susan and Michael (including a few signed copies!), as well as a rich selection of books on bourbon tasting, bourbon history and cooking with bourbon. See our selection of bourbon-related books under "From our Store" on the left side of this page.