You are here

The Good Byline: A Riley Ellison Mystery (Paperback)

The Good Byline: A Riley Ellison Mystery Cover Image
$16.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"Orr's debut mystery is a fun romp populated with peculiar characters. Recommend to new adult fans or admirers of Janet Evanovich's "Stephanie Plum" capers."
-- Library Journal

"Full of heart...this career of Riley's could certainly have her solving crimes for years to come. For now, Jill Orr has put pure joy on the page with The Good Byline."
-- BOLO Books

"Jill Orr's delightful, laugh-out-loud debut is the perfect mix of mystery, humor, and romance, anchored by an endearing heroine you can't help but root for. A fun, fast-paced read with a satisfying mystery at its heart. Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich."
-- Laura McHugh, award-winning author of Arrowood and The Weight of Blood

"Riley "Bless Her Heart" Ellison is a breath of fresh air--a funny, empathic, Millennial heroine. She kept me turning the pages well into the night."
-- Susan M. Boyer, USA TODAY-bestselling author of the Liz Talbot mystery series

"Who knew obituaries could be this much fun?"
-- Gretchen Archer, USA TODAY-bestselling author of the Davis Way Crime Caper series

"An extremely fun read Regina H., Personal Romance Concierge, may be my favorite new literary character of the decade."
-- Anne Flett-Giordano, author of Marry, Kiss, Kill and Emmy-winning writer of the TV shows Mom, Frasier, and Desperate Housewives

"Jill Orr will make you laugh, make you think, and steam up your reading glasses with this funny, smart, and romantic mystery debut. The Good Byline is an engaging story that will keep readers wondering whodunit and how'd-they-do-it until the very end."
-- Diane Kelly, award-winning author of the Death & Taxes and Paw Enforcement mysteries

"In this irresistible page-turner, Jill Orr delivers a funny, smartly written mystery featuring a charming heroine and appealing setting. I can't wait to join millennial Riley Ellison on future adventures--and misadventures "
-- Ellen Byron, author of Body on the Bayou and Plantation Shudders

"Jill Orr's Tuttle Corner is absolutely charming, and you'll want to hang out more in this Virginian small town with Riley and her cast of friends. The methodical local reporter, Will Holman, is a standout, and here's hoping he will appear in more of Riley's mystery adventures. Fans of Hannah Dennison's Vicky Hill series will devour this debut "
-- Naomi Hirahara, Edgar Award-winning author of the Mas Arai and Ellie Rush mystery series

"What a fun, quirky, mystery This was exactly what I needed to comfort me during these uncertain times...I can't wait to give this to all my girlfriends for their beach vacations."
-- Whitney Berger, The King's English Bookshop, Salt Lake City.

About the Author


Jill Orr has written features and a parenting column for COMO Living Magazine (formerly Columbia Home) in her hometown of Columbia, Missouri, for more than ten years, and her humor essays are found on her blog, An Exercise in Narcissism. The Good Byline is her first book. Learn more at www.jillorrauthor.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781938849916
ISBN-10: 1938849914
Publisher: Prospect Park Books
Publication Date: April 11th, 2017
Pages: 280
Language: English

Third Monday in May

 

From the publisher:

"In this richly imaginative debut novel, the first running of the Kentucky Derby serves as the backdrop for a story of what might have been had Abraham Lincoln survived his assassination and lived to retire with Mary to Springfield.  Derby historian Ross R. Moore provides an accurate account of the origins of the famous race, while creating a detailed and entirely plausible world through which the Lincoln's journey to Louisville to meet old friends and to face another deadly threat.  Part horse racing saga, part travelogue, part historical fantasy, part suspense thriller, chock full of sly bits of "stealth history" befitting its educator author, and peopled with memorable characters both real and imaginary, the result is an entertaining and engaging yarn and rewarding read."

Ross R. Moore is an educator, storyteller, and singer-songwriter living in San Diego.  A native of Kentucky where he attended Murray State University and the University of Louisville, he was for several years a museum educator at the Kentucky Derby Museum, sharing the history of the race with visitors. Now he brings this story to a wider audience, drawing upon his knowledge of Derby lore to form the backdrop of this, his first novel.

New Novel about Crawfish Bottom

Book cover: Concerning the Matter of the King of Craw a story by Ron Rhody

Local author, Ron Rhody has written a new novel "Concerning the Matter of the King of Craw" about the infamous John Fallis.

Ron is author of the "Theo" books about Frankfort.

Author Ron Rhody and store owner Lizz Taylor

Ron Rhody was in the store to sign copies of his new book recently.

So we have a limited quantity of signed copies of King of Craw that would make great presents.